Close Search

Millions of people around the world right now are celebrating Chinese New Year.

Want to know more about this epic festival?

Here are five quick facts about Chinese New Year courtesy of the Office of Multicultural Interests.

  • Chinese New Year is the longest and most important festival for Chinese all over the world. It is a major 15-day celebration and public holiday in China, Taiwan, Singapore, Malaysia, Indonesia, Thailand and the Philippines.
  • Each year of the Chinese New Year calendaris named after an animal. There’s a cycle of 12 animals—the rat, ox, tiger, rabbit, dragon, snake, horse, sheep, monkey, rooster, dog and pig—and after each cycle the list begins again.
  • Each day within the Chinese New Year period has a special meaning. The period accumulates with the lantern festival on the 15th day. Click here to explore what each day means.
  • 2017 is the Year of the Rooster. People born in a rooster year are said to be observant, hardworking, resourceful, courageous and talented. Roosters are also very self-confident!
  • Children receive red envelopes containing money. The amount, which usually totals to an even number, cannot be divisible by four because in Chinese, the number four means death.

If you’d like to learn more about about Chinese New Year, or see what festivities are on here in Western Australia, click here.



Simply enter your details to signup to our newsletter.